What's new
USCHO Fan Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

  • The USCHO Fan Forum has migrated to a new plaform, xenForo. Most of the function of the forum should work in familiar ways. Please note that you can switch between light and dark modes by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right of the main menu bar. We are hoping that this new platform will prove to be faster and more reliable. Please feel free to explore its features.

Minnesota at Denver Feb 10 & 11

Re: Minnesota at Denver Feb 10 & 11

Who owns the Gophs? DU does in Denver.
Congrats on the sweep, gents, and hope to see ya'll in St. Paul for a reunion.....er.....rematch. :)
 
Re: Minnesota at Denver Feb 10 & 11

This was a good series between good teams who have history. Good chance a rematch at St. Paul is not out of the question.
 
Re: Minnesota at Denver Feb 10 & 11

I hear this statement often - "finishing his check" - but in many contexts it's incorrect. "Finishing" necessitates that the check was being "started" in a legal fashion. ...
Agree. USA Hockey 2011-13 rulebook is quite clear on this:
"Intimidation tactics have no place in ice hockey. These tactics include any contact to the head of the opponent, checking from behind and late avoidable body checks to an opponent who is no longer is possession and control of the puck."

"the purpose of the check shall be to separate the opponent from the puck and officials should strictly penalize any illegal actions such as boarding, charging and a late avoidable body check to a player who is no longer in possession and control of the puck."

"A player cannot use the hands, stick or extension of the arms to body check an opponent or deliver an avoidable body check to a player who is not in possession and control of the puck. Examples include: .... Delivering an avoidable check to a player who has already relinquished control of the puck by a pass or shot. This is oftentimes referred to as 'finishing' the check."

Seems pretty clear, at least in USA Hockey's domain. I'm sure NCAA has their own rulebook. But I doubt it gives the green light on late, avoidable hits.
 
Back
Top