What's new
USCHO Fan Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

  • The USCHO Fan Forum has migrated to a new plaform, xenForo. Most of the function of the forum should work in familiar ways. Please note that you can switch between light and dark modes by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right of the main menu bar. We are hoping that this new platform will prove to be faster and more reliable. Please feel free to explore its features.

North Dakota @ Minnesota 1/18/12

Re: North Dakota @ Minnesota 1/18/12

I thought it didn't matter any longer if the net is dislodged, unless it affects the play... that puck was dead center

Double checked the ruling. The new ruling this season is if the "back" of the net is dislodged, it does not affect play if the puck goes in. If the net comes off the moorings, it does affect play and that was the call the refs made in this case for the "no goal".
 
Re: North Dakota @ Minnesota 1/18/12

Double checked the ruling. The new ruling this season is if the "back" of the net is dislodged, it does not affect play if the puck goes in. If the net comes off the moorings, it does affect play and that was the call the refs made in this case for the "no goal".

Actually, no, the new rule doesn't say that:

"26.2 Net Dislodgement - In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal.
In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in position to shoot) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts.
When the goal post has been displaced deliberately by the defending team when their goalkeeper has been removed for an extra attacker thereby preventing an impending goal by the attacking team, the Referee shall award a goal to the attacking team.
The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal. This rule also applies to other types of net anchoring systems."

The rule number from the link earlier is from the proposals, the 26.2 is straight from the actual rulebook:
http://www.ncaapublications.com/productdownloads/IH14.pdf

What I'm wondering is if they decided that Haula went into the net himself. It looked to me like he was pushed, in which case the goal should have counted, but if they decided that Haula did himself, then the no-goal was right.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top