Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• D-III Women's Coverage changing of the guard

Greetings all,

I just wanted to take a couple minutes to jot some things down and thank some people.

As some of you may have already noticed, Ken Castro posted a D-III women's blog post this morning. He's taken over the duties as the USCHO D-III women's correspondent from me after I held the job since 2007. I officially stepped down last week after submitting my first column of the season.

A lot has changed for me since 2007 when I was still in college at Oswego State and had all the time in the world to devote to this column weekly. I've since moved on to Norwich University where I've been working in the Sports Information office for the last four years and was promoted to the Director two years ago.

The proper time needed to devote to this rapidly expanding entity that is D-III women's hockey just isn't there anymore and it's not fair to the USCHO community of the fans, players, coaches etc of D-III women's hockey to not have someone who can devote the adequate time to it, which I haven't been able to do lately, especially over the last year or so.

I've been following the D-III women's game ever since the NCAA started sponsoring the sport back in 2001 when I would go to Elmira games since it was 10 minutes from my hometown. You can't imagine the amount of changes I've seen in the 12 years since. The parity, speed, talent and depth of teams is exponentially better. The desire for news and information has also increased at pretty much the same rate and I haven't been able to keep up with it while still performing my duties at Norwich.

I'd like to thank Chris Lerch and Ed Trefzger for giving me the opportunity back in 2007 for my first professional writing gig. (Despite the fact they are RIT guys. For those of you who go way back there were not many college hockey rivalries that could top RIT/Elmira back when RIT was still Division III.