Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NFL 2023-24. Now without Dan Snyder!

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Bronco
    replied
    Campbell should have planned ahead and knew that the refs were incompetent. See, it's Detroit's fault after all!
    -NFL, probably

    Leave a comment:


  • MichVandal
    replied
    Originally posted by Russell Jaslow View Post
    When they got pushed back to the seven after the initial penalty, why didn't they just decide to kick for the extra point and try their hand at OT? (I assume you can change your mind before the play and set the ball accordingly for the extra point.)
    Dan is stubborn. Which is bad sometimes. Had they kicked a FG instead of going for the TD on 4th and goal (early in the game), the PAT would not have mattered. Then again, had he not done a fake punt really early on the same drive....

    Leave a comment:


  • Russell Jaslow
    replied
    When they got pushed back to the seven after the initial penalty, why didn't they just decide to kick for the extra point and try their hand at OT? (I assume you can change your mind before the play and set the ball accordingly for the extra point.)

    Leave a comment:


  • Fighting Sioux 23
    replied
    Looks like the Detroit-Dallas officiating crew will get "downgraded" based on their performance. Apparently, they also botched the "tripping" penalty that was called on Dallas on their last possession that led to a 1st and 25. Turns out it should have been tripping called on Detroit, and have been a 1st and 10 for the Cowboys inside the Red Zone. Bizarre.

    Leave a comment:


  • state of hockey
    replied
    I think I heard someone that was a former D lineman mention that the Dallas group on the field sees Goff point to the ref and watches him go over a seemingly talk to the official, and you know there’s no reason a 68 is doing that other than to declare. I wonder if they were confused when the ref told them 70 and not Decker as well. :^D

    Leave a comment:


  • Spartanforlife4
    replied
    Originally posted by Fighting Sioux 23 View Post

    Also, I heard it mentioned during the broadcast, but haven't seen it really discussed...wouldn't the Lions have been in an illegal formation had 68 been eligible?
    Someone told me he corrected himself post game. The formation foul was only if he was still an ineligible tackle rather than an eligible end. I think he was also confused in the moment.

    Leave a comment:


  • MichVandal
    replied
    Originally posted by Fighting Sioux 23 View Post

    Also, I heard it mentioned during the broadcast, but haven't seen it really discussed...wouldn't the Lions have been in an illegal formation had 68 been eligible?
    Why? He was the outside player on the line. The receiver next to him was in the backfield.

    As for the repeated plays, totally. And I would find fault in Goff for not noting 11 going offsides- meaning you can be totally aggressive with making the play. Or not seeing that there were other players open on the 3rd try.

    Leave a comment:


  • Fighting Sioux 23
    replied
    While I despise the Cowboys, it seems like the mishap (to the extent it was a mishap, which appears highly likely given the video evidence) was detrimental to both the Cowboys and the Lions. Obviously, if the ref misunderstood who was eligible, he would have told the Cowboys' players the mistaken player (70) was eligible, and the Cowboys likewise would have understood that 70 was eligible (and likely not even attempted to cover 68). This wasn't the refs "screwing" the Lions. Unless the ref told the Cowboys 68 was eligible (which appears highly unlikely), if they didn't call the penalty, the Cowboys would have been "screwed over" by the officiating. This appears to be a case of the ref making a mistake, and who knows how the play would have unfolded had the ref gotten it correct.

    Also, I heard it mentioned during the broadcast, but haven't seen it really discussed...wouldn't the Lions have been in an illegal formation had 68 been eligible?

    Regardless, the Lions had two additional attempts (including a "free play") to get the 2-point conversion. In other words, they had their "opportunity" and didn't take advantage.

    Leave a comment:


  • MichVandal
    replied
    Originally posted by Jimjamesak View Post
    The one on ESPN was being pretty harsh on SportsCenter after the game.
    I thought Aikman was much more harsh on the ref than the SC ref. The SC ref put some of the blame on Decker. As if he should have known that the ref didn't notice him- even though he was standing right in front of him. And the ref didn't announce over the PA which players were eligible- which would have told him that he didn't get his message across. How could he have known the ref wasn't paying attention? Couldn't hear him talk to the D when he walked over there.

    It would have been a lot easier to lose by a last second FG vs. having the opportunity taken away by a ref not paying attention.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jimjamesak
    replied
    Originally posted by state of hockey View Post
    It must be tough to find a rules expert that isn’t a former official, but they have to try. They merely agree with whatever official messed up every single time.
    The one on ESPN was being pretty harsh on SportsCenter after the game.

    Leave a comment:


  • state of hockey
    replied
    It must be tough to find a rules expert that isn’t a former official, but they have to try. They merely agree with whatever official messed up every single time.

    Leave a comment:


  • Russell Jaslow
    replied
    Originally posted by MichVandal View Post

    The replay clearly showed that lineman reporting to the ref. The ref missed it. There was no other reason for him to walk over to the ref, which he and one other player did. And apparently the ref thought the guy running in from the sideline was the only one.

    This was all of the ref screwing up.
    I was getting the information from my brother -- neither one of us has a dog in the fight -- as I did not watch the game. He just clarified himself to say essentially what you are saying.

    Leave a comment:


  • MichVandal
    replied
    Originally posted by Russell Jaslow View Post

    I heard the wrong player reported. So, where's the discrepancy?
    The replay clearly showed that lineman reporting to the ref. The ref missed it. There was no other reason for him to walk over to the ref, which he and one other player did. And apparently the ref thought the guy running in from the sideline was the only one.

    This was all of the ref screwing up.

    Leave a comment:


  • Russell Jaslow
    replied
    Originally posted by MichVandal View Post
    If you are wondering, the Lions drove and scored. Going for two, a lineman clearly reported to the ref- you could see him walk over to the ref, and the ref went to the dallas line and told them (they showed this in a replay). The lineman then caught a pass to score a go ahead 2 point conversion. And they called illegal touching on him.
    I heard the wrong player reported. So, where's the discrepancy?

    Leave a comment:


  • MichVandal
    replied
    Originally posted by Bronco View Post
    Ah there's the refs ****ing over the Lions that's been missing this season.
    Dallas also got away with a pretty obvious PI or at least illegal contact prior to the TD. The Lions got penalized for good defense and a pass that was nowhere near close- called illegal contact. Just so frustrating to be so close and not, AND having the refs make obvious calls against them.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X