brianvf's 30,000th Post: Wastin Time & Lovin Every Minute of It

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• brianvf's 30,000th Post: Wastin Time & Lovin Every Minute of It

Wow, hard to believe it’s been almost 9 years and now *shakes head*, 30k posts.
    That’s a lot of freakin posts. Well, not compared to Ralph, but still a lot.

I started posting here just because I was a UND student and really started getting more into Fighting Sioux hockey. Since I was born and raised in GF, I was technically a Sioux fan from birth, but I really remember my “extreme passion” for UND hockey starting about my sophomore year at UND. It just took off from there. I don’t remember how or why I happened upon this USCHO site and message board, but I’m glad I did. It has enabled me to meet a lot of cool people, and most importantly, waste a lot of time…even at work. If only my bosses knew. Haha!

Some of the highlights of the last 9 years, in no particular order:

• Playing outdoor hockey at Lake Agassiz Park with Sloe Gin, Wilbur, ItalianSioux, and GSH. Who knew that other posters actually played there?
    • Duluth Road trips. Driving down there with Dirty, MNS, and Joe. Nearly dying on the return trip as Joe drove 80mph down Hwy 2 in a crazy snow storm. Painted-on pants girl at the DECC. Drinking Long Island pitchers at Grandma’s with DHG and beersong. Central Park and the Edmund Fitzgerald.
    • Multiple Final Five trips. Finally meeting some decent UMN fans…Brent, Rimbaud, Scooby, Bakunin, Rabid Gopher, etc. Beer Darts in a random parking lot. Watching UND win the Broadmoor in 06 with MNS…seats on the glass!
    • Singing to shrader, which I think ultimately won his heart.
    • Frozen Four trip to Milwaukee. Sat with St Clown. I don’t think either of us wanted UW to win. I don’t think either of us wanted BC to win.
    • Meeting sagard outside of a Sioux/Gopher Final Five skate. I realized that Gopher fans can actually be cool/nice behind their arrogance.