No announcement yet.

Vote fot Jessie Vetter

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Vote fot Jessie Vetter

    Vetter named a finalist for Sportswoman of the Year

    Former Wisconsin goaltender, Jessie Vetter has been named a finalist for the Women's Sports Foundation's Sportswoman of the Year award. Vetter is one of ten finalists selected for the 2009 honor which fans can vote for to determine the ultimate winner.

    The Women's Sports Foundation honors an individual and team each year based on their exceptional performance during a 12-month time span. Past winners include Nastia Liukin (2008), Natalie Coughlin (2003) and Michelle Kwan (1998) among numerous others.

    Fans can vote until midnight on Aug. 9 and the winner will be notified on Aug. 14. The award will be presented at the Annual Salute to Women's in Sports Awards Dinner in October in New York City.

    At the end of her senior year, Vetter became the all-time NCAA Division I leader for victories (91) and shutouts (39) and has the single-season shutout record (14). In November 2008, she led the U.S. Women’s Select Team to the Four Nations Cup. During her 2008-09 collegiate season with the University of Wisconsin, Vetter recorded 14 shutouts and had a national-best .942 save percentage. In March 2009, she became the first goaltender in history to start in four consecutive NCAA championship games, she led her team to a record of 33-2-5 and then helped them win a third NCAA Division I Women’s Ice Hockey Championship in four years. Also in March, Vetter won the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, which recognizes the accomplishments of the most outstanding player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey each season. USA Today named her Olympic Athlete of the Week in late March. After making 39 saves, Vetter helped Team USA defeat Canada and win the gold at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Women’s Championship and again was named Olympic Athlete of the Week by USA Today (April). In June, she was honored with the Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year award, given annually to an outstanding American-born women’s ice hockey player.

    Vote Here: