Statistics Models

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Statistics Models

I recently started playing around with the CHODR model crafted by Robin Lock over at SLU. Here's his page on the topic:
    http://it.stlawu.edu/~chodr/

I also have been tinkering with a variant that isolates either home or away data for a given team depending on the matchup.

Who out there has worked with it before? What other models do you guys like? There has to be some other dork out there.
    Hit Somebody!

Re: Statistics Models

CHODR is a Poisson regression... he doesn't consider any results that go into OT, and I believe he discounts ENGs. I've done home advantage for every team, but I don't really know that it really provides be a substantive activity. I've also used an off-set for time-of-match... I think at some point, however, I had to adjust it more accurately to the "first one who scores wins" paradigm... I forget exactly.

To me, the Poisson model is more or less the best of the standard forms at explaining hockey. Univariate distributions rarely have any useful bivariate (correlative) forms... overdispersed poisson (negative binomial) are usually a waste of time. I believe that goal differential IS a better at explaining strength in hockey than wins and losses... granted score gives you more information... but I believe that GF-GA is a bit more predictive... but you can make pros and cons... pro: Boston v. Vancouver SCF... con: TB making the CF.