PDA

View Full Version : UMD Bulldogs



Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

Dirty
02-20-2016, 09:36 AM
:eyeroll:


It's the truth! We did get screwed...but whatever. The announcers do love UND as they never fail to mention them on ESPN during a selection show, you're so spoiled and you don't even know it!

Sure, but the problem is you aren't listening to context. You're so busy peeing yourself over UND being mentioned that you fail to notice the announcers were answering the question: What team is the most likely to lose in the National Semifinals?

First Time, Long Time
02-20-2016, 10:04 AM
Why did he dive? If he was perfectly even why not throw a shoulder check for no penalty? Poganski had a step on him, that's why.

No idea why he dove, that was a dumb move.
Looked like he was trying to knock the puck away, but when the rule states that for a penalty shot the penalty has to be from behind, then that's a bad call as Poganski was not ahead of him.

Biddco
02-20-2016, 10:18 AM
Sure, but the problem is you aren't listening to context. You're so busy peeing yourself over UND being mentioned that you fail to notice the announcers were answering the question: What team is the most likely to lose in the National Semifinals?

It's my favorite annual tradition!

burd
02-20-2016, 11:00 AM
If that was the case there would be way more penalty shots. Soucy dove in front of Poganski. It was a bad call.

I THINK this is the rule:

25.6 Penalty Shot –
A penalty shot is designed to restore a scoring opportunity
which was lost as a result of a foul being committed by the offending
team, based on the parameters set out in these rules.
There are four (4) specific conditions that must be met in order for the
Referee to award a penalty shot for a player being fouled from behind. They
are:

• The infraction must have taken place in the neutral zone or attacking
zone, (i.e. over the puck carrier’s own blue line);

• The infraction must have been committed from behind;

• The player in possession and control (or, in the judgment of the
Referee, clearly would have obtained possession and control of the
puck) must have been denied a reasonable chance to score (the fact
that he got a shot off does not automatically eliminate this play from
the penalty shot consideration criteria. If the foul was from behind
and he was denied a “more” reasonable scoring opportunity due to the
foul, then the penalty shot should be awarded);

• The player in possession and control (or, in the judgment of the
Referee, clearly would have obtained possession and control of the
puck) must have had no opposing player between himself and the . . .

It that is the applicable rule, you are right, and I was wrong, Tipsy. Bad call.

Good result, though.

burd
02-21-2016, 06:39 AM
UND fans should be coming here to congratulate UMD for a very well-played series--they could easily have won both those games. I'd rather the Hawks don't play them again.

Biddco
02-21-2016, 08:49 AM
if they could figure out how to score they might be an actual tough out. You won't play them again so there's that.

vizoroo
02-22-2016, 03:36 PM
I'm sure you've watched this more than once, but...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHrNQYJ7q6c

Impartial observation (except for deep seated dislike for siouxhawks)
>Dawg rolling into Poganski the Pest could be called for a penalty
> Soucy appears to be about even with Pest
> "Squatch" Soucy hits Pest
>Ref #4 puts up arm for penalty
>Ref (is that good old Todd), my guess looks to trailing ref and then clutches hand and changes to penalty shot

At best, UMD gets 2 min penalty in OT. At worst, what happened:(

Biddco
02-22-2016, 04:42 PM
Ok, before the Bulldog faithful have exploding heads. They are still a very good team that has seen very few breaks this season. My pick for the conference tourney winner :)


Spot on Dirty. Same thing different year.


If there is one good thing that came out of last night's game it is the absolute epic whining from a number of UMD fans. From UMD got screwed to the announcers love UND to the refs hate us to UND always gets the calls to UND fans are spoiled to UND is being goons to UMD never gets calls. I'm pretty sure every possible complaint has been made in the last 12+ hours.


I'm sure you've watched this more than once, but...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHrNQYJ7q6c

Impartial observation (except for deep seated dislike for siouxhawks)
>Dawg rolling into Poganski the Pest could be called for a penalty
> Soucy appears to be about even with Pest
> "Squatch" Soucy hits Pest
>Ref #4 puts up arm for penalty
>Ref (is that good old Todd), my guess looks to trailing ref and then clutches hand and changes to penalty shot

At best, UMD gets 2 min penalty in OT. At worst, what happened:(

That game is a microcosm of this disappointing season.

The Sicatoka
02-22-2016, 04:57 PM
Just watched the replay and the worst part is the official took forever to make the penalty shot call... its almost like the crowd and the moment talked him into it.


I just watched the end of the Friday game again.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/zHrNQYJ7q6c

UMD almost lost that game before the Poganski penalty shot.

When Anderson's arm went into the air (0:14) the UMD players (save for their goalie) stopped. Janatuinen (who'd been free on the 2-on-1 when Poganski was hauled down) picked up the puck behind the net (0:16) and sent it straight up the slot to Poolman. Poolman got a rocket shot off (0:18) that was glove saved*.

Then the whistle blew because a 'dog controlled the puck.

Immediately after he blew the whistle to stop play Anderson made the call**.

If the UMD goalie had quit on the play, like his teammates, the game would've been over on Poolman's shot/goal.

So, no, the crowd did nothing to Anderson. He made the call when play stopped (not when UMD stopped).


*And clearly the puck was still live when Poolman shot it or else it would've been a "shooting after the whistle" penalty that late after Anderson's arm was up.
**You'll never find me at a "#4 Todd Anderson Fan Club" meeting, but he got that sequence right.

The Sicatoka
02-22-2016, 05:06 PM
> Soucy appears to be about even with Pest

Q: Then why did Poganski fall backwards onto Soucy if they were about even?
A: Because they weren't even. Soucy's shoulder is in Poganski's hamstring when contact is made. (0:13 mark) Soucy was behind.

http://board.uscho.com/showthread.php?113384-University-of-North-Dakota-2015-2016-Seaason&p=6279439&viewfull=1#post6279439


I'll ask it here: If what Soucy did is not a penalty shot, what is?

First Time, Long Time
02-22-2016, 05:46 PM
Q: Then why did Poganski fall backwards onto Soucy if they were about even?
A: Because they weren't even. Soucy's shoulder is in Poganski's hamstring when contact is made. (0:13 mark) Soucy was behind.

http://board.uscho.com/showthread.php?113384-University-of-North-Dakota-2015-2016-Seaason&p=6279439&viewfull=1#post6279439


I'll ask it here: If what Soucy did is not a penalty shot, what is?

He fell more to the side than straight backwards.
And if that is considered "from behind" like the rule requires then a lot more trips would/should be called Penalty Shots.

Tipsy McStagger
02-22-2016, 06:06 PM
Q: Then why did Poganski fall backwards onto Soucy if they were about even?
A: Because they weren't even. Soucy's shoulder is in Poganski's hamstring when contact is made. (0:13 mark) Soucy was behind.

http://board.uscho.com/showthread.php?113384-University-of-North-Dakota-2015-2016-Seaason&p=6279439&viewfull=1#post6279439


I'll ask it here: If what Soucy did is not a penalty shot, what is?
Because Poganski turned away from Soucy as contact was made.

To your second question: a play that satisfies all four of the qualifications for a penalty shot. That wasn't the case here and you are one of the few people that seem to think it does. Even Starman changed his mind after watching the replay.

The Sicatoka
02-22-2016, 06:45 PM
The shoulder is in the hamstring.

Dangerous. Took away a scoring chance. And from behind.

And I do believe more penalty shots should be called to protect the offensive player. Don't like it? Don't get beat.

willythekid
02-22-2016, 08:14 PM
Because Poganski turned away from Soucy as contact was made.

To your second question: a play that satisfies all four of the qualifications for a penalty shot. That wasn't the case here and you are one of the few people that seem to think it does. Even Starman changed his mind after watching the replay.

Starman's official stance on twitter was that it was a hard call to make and he sees why Anderson made the call he did. At the time of the hit, which is when the ref has to make his determination, Starman and Matt Wellens both thought it was the right call. Schloss thought there was a pretty good chance it was going to be called a penalty shot. I think it's very clear that Pogs had a step on the duluth player and would have had a clear shot had he not been dived into. So the question arises... what's from behind? Obviously that's the debate here. You can make the argument, one that I agree with, that Poganski had a step on the d-man thus he was behind. You can't make the argument that the duluth player had a step on Poganski.

SiouxFanatic
02-22-2016, 08:53 PM
To your second question: a play that satisfies all four of the qualifications for a penalty shot. That wasn't the case here and you are one of the few people that seem to think it does. Even Starman changed his mind after watching the replay.
FWIW, Starman also said:



Asked my questions, did my research, got penalty shot criteria in NCAA hockey explained point by point yesterday by those in the know..

Link: https://twitter.com/DStarmanHockey/status/701399650859773952



While call was unpopular among the masses, it did meet the criteria in the NCAA rule book as it was explained to me by those I trust.

Link: https://twitter.com/DStarmanHockey/status/701400709225275392

Tipsy McStagger
02-22-2016, 09:37 PM
Here was Starman's initial tweet after the game, before he probably heard from Don Adam to tell him to back down
https://twitter.com/DStarmanHockey/status/700921957609439232
"Upon further review of the play that caused the penalty shot, and I'm not a ref; that at most is a minor for tripping. Just my opinion."

http://blog.collegehockeynews.com/2016/02/nchc-saturday-feb-20-three-things/
"The play (of course) happened quickly, but with the benefit of slow-motion replay, it appears that at the time of Soucy’s tripping infraction, he was parallel with Poganski — and if that’s the case, the play doesn’t meet one of the four conditions that “must be met in order for the Referee to award a penalty shot,” namely, that the “infraction must have been committed from behind.”

http://ndgoon.blogspot.com/2016/02/und-2-umd-1-video-highlights.html
"This was very big win for UND. I've had a few people ask me about the penalty that led to the penalty shot. I don't know. If I had been officiating this game, I would've probably called a two-minute penalty. We can write it off as, "hey it's Todd Anderson."
Apparently, Todd Anderson made the wrong call on the play in question (per the rule book). As my buddy Ken says, the refs don't follow the rule book anymore."

http://undhockey.areavoices.com/?p=102350
"So, the next question is whether Poganski should have been awarded a penalty shot by referee Todd Anderson. In real time, I immediately looked at Anderson, because I thought there was a chance. Poganski was about to beat Carson Soucy wide and take the puck to the net. But I think he has to be more in the clear to get a penalty shot. There’s no question that Soucy tripped Poganski, but without a clear lane to the net, I would have left it at two minutes for tripping (and UND potentially would have won it on the power play, anyway, who knows)"

After watching the reverse angle, it looks like Poganski starts going down before Soucy even makes contact with him. Interestingly enough, everyone who replied thought the call was horse-bleep
https://twitter.com/cjzero/status/700899903325736961

Ronnieb
02-26-2016, 10:26 PM
Oh yeah, still my tourney pick :)

Joe Bulldog
02-27-2016, 07:01 AM
Did I hear correctly that Starman reversed position on the penalty shot call AGAIN?

Regardless, waiting to see a performance like this for a while. Now they just have to keep it up.

Biddco
02-27-2016, 09:28 AM
I don't even know what to believe on the penalty shot...I'm not going to hurt my head thinking about it anymore. We're on to SCSU.




Great win last night, team jumped early and often...then held on for dear life as Kas played one of his best games as a bulldog. He had a lot of rebounds, couldn't' make a catch with his glove to save his life but the defense was there to bail him or the rebound went wide (or outside of the slot). Fun game to watch. Somehow despite those rebounds he played of a hell of game. First game he has stolen for UMD in a while, first one for this year for sure. It's always nice to win a Friday game and feel like you're playing with house money on Friday.

Sucks that we made UND fans happy but it's awesome to now have a three game winning streak in St. Cloud for the first since the 90's. Gotta find out when the last time that happened. 1999 is the last time they swept in SCSU before last season, so maybe that's when they last won three games in a row.

Ronnieb
03-06-2016, 01:36 PM
Oh yeah, Bulldogs :)